How to get your marriage license in Omaha, Nebraska!


How to get your marriage license in Omaha, Nebraska!

Quickly get your marriage license in Douglas County Nebraska!

IT IS SO EASY

Obtaining a license to marry is simple and easy! In the state of Nebraska, a license issued in one county in Nebraska can be used in any county in Nebraska. These steps are for the Douglas county clerks office procedure for marriage licenses. If you wish to obtain a license to marry in another county, please refer to the county clerk's office in that particular county.


3.jpg





Here are 3 simple steps, literally anyone can follow:



1. Fill out the form online

The form is simple and quick to fill out, and only takes a few minutes. You will need to include your parents names, including mothers maiden name, and parents birthplaces on the document. Print your form and take it with you to the county clerk's office. You must be 19 years old to marry.

2. Go to the County Clerk’s Office

Go to the courthouse for Douglas County with your marriage license application form, your proof of age/identity. Acceptable forms of identification are: a valid driver's license, passport, or certified birth certificate. If either of you has been married before, the date the previous marriage ended will be required as well. The cost of a marriage license in Douglas County is $25, and needs to be paid in cash or credit card. You can also prepay for copies of the marriage certificate (proof you are actually married) at this time for $9 each copy. I would recommend you pay for 2 copies to keep for your records. 


3. Keep your License for the Ceremony

You will need to have the officiant for your ceremony sign the marriage license, as well as 2 witnesses.



Other FAQS:

  1. Who can perform our ceremony?

  • Any ordained minister, priest, rabbi or other ordained clergy may perform a marriage ceremony. 

  • All judges retired judges and clerk magistrates also may perform marriage ceremonies. 

  • The person who is performing the ceremony does not have to reside in Nebraska, nor register with Nebraska.

  1. What is the difference between a marriage license and marriage certificate?

The marriage license is a “license to marry” where the marriage certificate “certifies you are married”. You first get the License and then file it with the county to receive the certificate of marriage. 

  1. Is there a waiting period in Nebraska?

No, there is no waiting period in the state of Nebraska.

  1. Is same sex marriage legal in Nebraska?

Yes, it absolutely is!

  1. Do we need witnesses to be married?

Yes, you will need 2 witnesses present at the ceremony to sign your license.

  1. What are the hours of operation for Douglas County Clerk’s Office?

7:30 AM – 4:30 PM, Monday through Friday (excluding holidays).  They are also available from 4:30 PM - 6:00 PM on the first Thursday of each month by appointment only for marriage license applicants. For more information, call (402) 444-6080.

  1. Is a blood test required?

No, there is no longer a blood test required as of 1998.

  1. Are common law marriages allowed in the state of Nebraska?

No, common law marriage is not recognized in Nebraska.

  1. How do I change my name after we are married?

Download our awesome checklist for changing your name right below





LET'S DO THIS

WHETHER YOU ARE READY TO MAKE THAT LEAP, OR YOU JUST HAVE MORE QUESTIONS. KIMBERLY AND I ARE HERE FOR YOU. PLEASE SEND US A QUICK NOTE TO TELL US HOW WE ARE DOING AND LET US KNOW IF THERE ARE ANY BURNING WEDDING QUESTIONS ON YOUR MIND.

Checklist for changing your name

We are thrilled to offer weddings and events in Omaha, Lincoln, and their surrounding towns such as Grand Island, Council Bluffs and others. Now in Kansas City, Des Moines, and more coming soon!

TINY LUXE WEDDINGS LLC

OMAHA, NE

COPYRIGHT 2019 TINY LUXE WEDDINGS



Kimberly Personsdowntown omaha